The Press Democrat
BY THE EDITORIAL BOARD
How does a $20 traffic ticket turn into a $160 fine? In California, citations come with a long list of fees and surcharges on top of the penalty for the underlying offense. Miss the deadline to pay and the actual cost of that $20 ticket can quickly climb to $500 or more, plus a license suspension. Between 2006 and 2013, more than 4 million people — one in six California adults — had their licenses suspended for failing to pay a traffic ticket on time.